2021 Paraeducator of the Year Award Nominees

2021 Paraeducator of the Year Award Nominees

This month Hartford Public Schools recognizes the hard work and dedication of our paraeducators. We are happy and proud to announce our list of nominees for the 2021 Anne Marie Murphy Paraeducator of the Year Award.  Let’s offer our congratulations and good luck to them!

Paraeducator of the Year 2021

The award is named in honor of Anne Marie Murphy, a paraeducator who lost her life at Sandy Hook Elementary School in 2012. To select the HPS Paraeducator of the Year (POY), a districtwide committee will interview the top ten candidates. This year, the screening will occur remotely. After this review, the committee will select a finalist for the state competition, who will be announced on May 6.

This year’s nominees, in alphabetical order by school, are:


Candidate Name School
Vans Harper Annie Fisher STEM
Christine Guadalupe Betances Learning Lab Magnet School
Sasha Bentham Burr School
Joy Hancock Breakthrough II Magnet (North) School
Cheryl Johnson Breakthrough Magnet (South) School
Sandra Cruz Burgos Bulkeley High School
Priscilla Viera Burns Latino Studies Academy
Ada Acosta Classical Magnet
Jesus Suarez Environmental Sciences Magnet at Mary Hooker
Cynthia Hall-Diaz Expeditionary Learning Academy at Moylan
Daniella Pappalardo Hartford PreK Magnet School
Guillermo Mardales Hartford Public High School
Luz Delgado Kennelly School
Donna Rodney Case M.D. Fox School
Jamal Williams MLK Middle School
Maribeliz Rodriguez Naylor School
Anne Castelhano Noah Webster MicroSociety Magnet School
Maria Dominguez Parkville Community School
Steven Jernigan Pathways Academy of Technology & Design
Tashona Mathis Rawson School
Mirna Abaza Sanchez Elementary School
Yvonne White SAND School
Scott Wosleger Sport & Medical Sciences Academy
Iris Ortiz West Middle School


Thanks to our nominees, and all of our Paraeducators, for their commitment to the success of all our students.