Don’t Miss our CAS-CIAC Scholar-Athletes on Fox 61 on 5/3, 6:30 PM

Don’t Miss our CAS-CIAC Scholar-Athletes on Fox 61 on 5/3, 6:30 PM

Three hundred and fifty-eight senior student athletes will be recognized in a CAS-CIAC Virtual Scholar-Athlete Banquet airing at 6:30 p.m. Sunday, May 3, on Fox61 and, Hearst Connecticut Media’s website dedicated to high school sports coverage. The 30-minute special will honor the Scholar Athletes selected by 182 schools for their achievements in athletics and the classroom.

The program will feature many elements of the annual Scholar Athlete Banquet with some new additions for the virtual program. Viewers are encouraged to share support for the honorees during the program on social media using #SchAth20, with some comments being featured on CIAC social media platforms.

The event will feature recognition of each Scholar Athlete; remarks from keynote speaker Anna Mahon a former Olympian and current principal of Amity Regional High School; retired ESPN radio personality Bob Picozzi as host of the event for the 33rd time in 36 years; a profile of Haley Lespier from Maloney High School, the 2020 Michael H. Savage Spirit of Sport Award winner; brief features on a pair of compelling scholar-athlete stories; congratulatory messages from noteworthy Connecticut sports figures; and more. The event is possible thanks to CIAC partners IGA, the CT Department of Public Health, the Connecticut Army National Guard, and Liberty Bank.

Along with the airing on Fox61, and, the program will be available after its conclusion on the NFHS Network,, the CAS-CIAC YouTube page, and on Hearst Connecticut Media’s platforms:

The Scholar-Athlete Program annually recognizes two high school seniors from each member high school whose academic and athletic careers have been exemplary, whose personal standards and achievements are a model to others, and who possess high levels of integrity, self-discipline and courage. It is one of the longest running CAS-CIAC events, honoring standout senior student athletes every year since 1984, but could not be held in person this year due to COVID-19 concerns.

You can view the segment about our Hartford Public Schools Scholar Athletes below.

See below for the list of 2019-20 HPS CAS-CIAC Scholar Athletes:

2019-20 HPS CAS-CIAC Scholar Athletes

School Athlete 1   Athlete 2  
Bulkeley Zaida Cotto Abedin Abedini
Capital Prep Brianna Westberry Kobe Anderson
Classical Magnet Amber Salmon Collin Doyle
Hartford Public Joaneshly Marquez-Santana Ta  Mala Htoo
HMTCA Abigail Rogers Benjamin Chasse
SMSA Rebecca Mayer David Akinwole
University Frances Flores Kyle Vu
Weaver Olivia DeLeon-Gaston Ellis Diaz


Related Stories:

Weaver Scholar Athlete’s Story Shared by CIAC Sports and Fox61

Student Athletes Honored by CAS-CIAC