Finalists Chosen for 2018 Teacher of the Year

Finalists Chosen for 2018 Teacher of the Year

After an intensive screening and interview process, Hartford’s 2018 Teacher of the Year choice is down to three finalists.

A special district wide committee selected Kaitlin Sullivan, a science teacher at Bulkeley High School; Beverly Kissane, a technology teacher at Capital Preparatory Magnet School; and Benjamin Carlson, a physical education teacher at Annie Fisher  STEM Magnet School.  The finalists are being video-taped conducting a class at their schools and asked to complete a series of written essay questions as part of their final evaluation.
Kaitlin Sullivan 
Bulkeley High School
Beverly Kissane
Capital Preparatory Magnet School
Benjamin Carlson
Annie Fisher STEM Magnet School
 Read more about this science teacher, here.  Read more about this technology teacher here.  Read more about this physical education teacher here.
The selection committee is made up of Hartford Public School academic professional, officials from the Hartford Federation of Teachers, and former winners of the event. 39 schools, each submitting one nominee, are participating in the competition. All school-based candidates will also be recognized at the banquet.
The winner will be announced on Thursday, May 24th, at the annual Teacher of the Year Banquet to be held at the Hartford Marriott Downtown Hotel, located at 200 Columbus Blvd.


All nominees must be tenured K-12 teachers in the Hartford Public Schools system. They must exhibit exemplary teaching skills, show commitment to the belief that all children can learn and must be active in community and humanitarian efforts. Last year’s winner was Sonia Turner, a 6th Grade English Language Arts teacher at Annie Fisher STEM Magnet School.


Those wishing to purchase tickets to the 2018 Teacher of the Year banquet can do so online at:


Here are this year’s nominees:

Asian Studies at Bellizzi School Katie Mangiafico
Batchelder School Krystal Marshall-Dakers
Betances Early Reading Lab Magnet School Staci Chenail
Breakthrough II Magnet (North) School Ryan Sprague
Breakthrough Magnet (South) School Lisa Perucki
Bulkeley High School Kaitlin Sullivan
Burns Latino Studies Academy Heather Vega
Capital Preparatory Magnet Beverly Kissane
Classical Magnet Emily Brancati
Environmental Sciences Magnet at Mary Hooker Amy Couch
Expeditionary Learning Academy at Moylan Heather Kahn
Global Communications Academy Tamara Williams
Great Path Academy at Manchester Community College Charles Buder
Hartford Magnet Trinity College Academy Anne Leonard – Blake
Hartford PreK Magnet School Krysta Chambers
High School, Inc. Lori McCants
HPHS Academy of Engineering & Green Technology Abigail Perez
HPHS Law and Government Academy Bridget Allison
HPHS Nursing Academy Philip Mitchell
Journalism & Media Academy Magnet School Tiffany Blanchette
Kennelly School Danielle Barenbaum
Kinsella Magnet School of Performing Arts Elizabeth Tuninsky
M.D. Fox School Amanda Struble
Martin L. King, Jr. School Joshua Swabby
McDonough Expeditionary Learning School Christopher Redden
Milner Elementary School Sonsheree Blair
Naylor School Joseph Fuller
Parkville Community School Celine Hines
Pathways Academy of Technology & Design Chelsea Usher
Renzulli Gifted & Talented Academy Kara Ledger
Sanchez Elementary School Keon Ruiter
SAND School Meagan D’Ascanio
Sport & Medical Sciences Academy Erik McKay
STEM Magnet School at Annie Fisher Benjamin Carlson
STEM Magnet School at Dwight (Betances) Christine Downs
University High Magnet Matthew Shea
Webster MicroSociety Magnet School Chelsie Cremona
West Middle School Aniwa Donkor
Wish Museum School Regina-Julie Albee


This special event would not be possible without the support of our sponsors:

Lead Sponsor:  VOYA Financial, Inc.

Sponsors:  AXA Advisors, LLC, Hartford Federation of Teachers, Shipman and Goodwin LLP, the Hartford Yardgoats, The Village for Families & Children, Mega Education, The Julio Lozada Foundation, City Steam Brewery

Food Sponsors: Bear’s Smokehouse Barbecue, Blind Pig Pizza Co., V’s Trattoria, and Church & Main Deli Cafe

Leave a Reply