Five HPS Schools Recognized by Magnet Schools of America

Five HPS Schools Recognized by Magnet Schools of America

Five magnet schools in the Hartford Public Schools district have received National Merit Awards from Magnet Schools of America, the national association for magnet and theme-based schools.

This honor is given to magnet schools that demonstrate commitment to high academic standards, curriculum innovation, successful desegregation and diversity efforts, and consistent delivery of high-quality educational services.

The five Hartford Public Schools were recognized in two categories. The first category, Magnet Schools of Excellence (MSA) Awards, are for a select group of magnet schools that have demonstrated the highest level of excellence. Recipients were Annie Fisher Montessori Magnet School, Breakthrough Magnet School South, and Breakthrough Magnet School North.

This is the second year in a row that the Breakthrough Magnet schools, both character education-themed schools, have been awarded this honor. They offer a unique set of core values, which promote resiliency, self-regulation, integrity, community service and collaboration, and a growth mindset.

Annie Fisher Montessori Magnet School is the only public Montessori program in the nation that is awarded “recognition” status by Association Montessori Internationale. Instruction is based on the child’s inherent love of learning and is encouraged by giving students opportunities to engage in spontaneous, meaningful activities.

The second award category, Magnet School of Distinction Awards, were given to Hartford Magnet Trinity College Academy and Noah Webster MicroSociety Magnet School. Hartford Magnet Trinity College Academy’s program is built on a rigorous academic foundation that emphasizes science and the arts, blending these two complimentary themes with the Early College model. At Noah Webster MicroSociety Magnet School, students are engaged in ventures that encourage them to be productive and responsible citizens within their learning community.

“On behalf of Hartford Public Schools, I would like to thank Magnet Schools of America for this recognition,” said Superintendent Leslie Torres-Rodriguez. “The success of these five schools is due to the hard work of our school leaders, teachers and staff, working in partnership with families and the community. They ensure that all of our students are engaged with specialized themes and innovative approaches to instruction.”

“These Hartford Public Schools magnet schools have been recognized for their ability to deliver a theme-based education that prepares students to succeed academically,” said Sherri Davis-Googe, executive director of Enrollment and School Choice. “They exemplify, like all of our magnet schools, how the combination of high expectations, inclusiveness, and collaboration can be a winning formula for all students.”

Presentation of Excellence Award:

Magnet School of Excellence Awards are only given to a select group of magnet schools. Schools of Excellence are eligible to receive monetary awards and are eligible to be named the nation’s top Elementary, Secondary, or New & Emerging Magnet School. One of the Schools of Excellence will also be selected to win $5,000 and the Dr. Ronald P. Simpson Distinguished Merit Award, which is considered the most prestigious magnet school award in the nation.

To receive a national merit award, members of Magnet Schools of America must submit a detailed application that is scored by a panel of educators. These schools are judged and scored on their demonstrated ability to raise student academic achievement, promote racial and socioeconomic diversity, provide integrated curricula and instruction, and create strong family and community partnerships that enhance the school’s magnet theme.

For more information on these and other Hartford magnet schools, please visit To learn more about the national merit awards program, please visit