Hartford Public Schools Announces 2018 Teacher of the Year

Hartford Public Schools Announces 2018 Teacher of the Year

Teacher of the Year Banquet at Marriott Celebrates the Excellence of Our Hartford Teachers.

The winner of the 2018 Teacher of the Year Award for Hartford Public Schools was announced on May 24th, 2018 at the Hartford Marriot Downtown Hotel.

The competition for Hartford’s 2018 Teacher of the Year began with 39 teachers nominated by their schools to participate in this year’s selection process.

Each nominee underwent an intensive screening and interview process conducted by a district-wide Teacher of the Year Committee comprised of Hartford Public Schools curriculum directors, officials from the Hartford Federation of Teachers and previous award winners.

All nominees must be tenured K-12 teachers in the Hartford Public Schools system. They must exhibit exemplary teaching skills, show commitment to the belief that all children can learn and must be active in community and humanitarian affairs.

Last year’s winner was Sonia Turner, a 6th Grade English Language Arts teacher at Annie Fisher STEM Magnet School.

After its review, the committee selected three finalists. Each finalist was then recorded on video while conducting a class in their school. They were also asked to complete a series of written essay questions for the final evaluation.

The annual banquet, attended by nearly 500 guests, included all 39 nominees. The banquet was funded through individual ticket sales and generous local sponsors. The lead sponsor for the Teacher of the Year awards ceremony is VOYA Financial. Other Major Sponsors include: AXA Advisors, LLC, Hartford Federation of Teachers, Shipman and Goodwin LLP, the Hartford Yardgoats, The Village for Families & Children, Mega Education, The Julio Lozada Foundation, and City Steam Brewery.


The three FINALISTS are (left to right) pictured above Beverly Kissane, a Technology Teacher at Capital Preparatory Magnet School, Benjamin Carlson, a Physical Education Teacher at Annie Fisher STEM Magnet School, and Kaitlin Sullivan, a Science Teacher at Bulkeley High School.

Hartford Public Schools Superintendent Dr. Leslie Torres-Rodriguez served as presenter of the 2018 Teacher of the Year award and announced the winner, Benjamin Carlson.

This year’s nominees:
Asian Studies at Bellizzi School Katie Mangiafico
Batchelder School Krystal Marshall-Dakers
Betances Early Reading Lab Magnet School Staci Chenail
Breakthrough II Magnet (North) School Ryan Sprague
Breakthrough Magnet (South) School Lisa Perucki
Bulkeley High School Kaitlin Sullivan
Burns Latino Studies Academy Heather Vega
Capital Preparatory Magnet Beverly Kissane
Classical Magnet Emily Brancati
Environmental Sciences Magnet at Mary Hooker Amy Couch
Expeditionary Learning Academy at Moylan Heather Kahn
Global Communications Academy Tamara Williams
Great Path Academy at Manchester Community College Charles Buder
Hartford Magnet Trinity College Academy Anne Leonard – Blake
Hartford PreK Magnet School Krysta Chambers
High School, Inc. Lori McCants
HPHS Academy of Engineering & Green Technology Abigail Perez
HPHS Law and Government Academy Bridget Allison
HPHS Nursing Academy Philip Mitchell
Journalism & Media Academy Magnet School Tiffany Blanchette
Kennelly School Danielle Barenbaum
Kinsella Magnet School of Performing Arts Elizabeth Tuninsky
M.D. Fox School Amanda Struble
Martin L. King, Jr. School Joshua Swabby
McDonough Expeditionary Learning School Christopher Redden
Milner Elementary School Sonsheree Blair
Naylor School Joseph Fuller
Parkville Community School Celine Hines
Pathways Academy of Technology & Design Chelsea Usher
Renzulli Gifted & Talented Academy Kara Ledger
Sanchez Elementary School Keon Ruiter
SAND School Meagan D’Ascanio
Sport & Medical Sciences Academy Erik McKay
STEM Magnet School at Annie Fisher Benjamin Carlson
STEM Magnet School at Dwight (Betances) Christine Downs
University High Magnet Matthew Shea
Webster MicroSociety Magnet School Chelsie Cremona
West Middle School Aniwa Donkor
Wish Museum School Regina-Julie Albee

Top photo courtesy of the Hartford Courant.