Hartford Public Schools Announces Nominees for 2022 Teacher of the Year 

Hartford Public Schools Announces Nominees for 2022 Teacher of the Year 

(March 24, 2022 – Hartford, CT) The competition for Hartford’s 2022 Teacher of the Year has begun with thirty-nine teachers nominated by their schools to participate in this year’s selection process.

Each nominee will now undergo an intensive screening and interview process conducted remotely by a district-wide Teacher of the Year Committee made up of Hartford Public Schools directors, officials from the Hartford Federation of Teachers, and previous award winners. After its review, the committee selects three finalists. The finalists will be asked to complete a series of written essay questions and submit a videotaped lesson for the final evaluation.

The winner will be announced on Thursday, May 26, 2022. Due to precautionary measures taken to help prevent the spread of COVID-19, a safe and socially-distanced awards ceremony will take place at the Weaver High School auditorium. Traditionally, a larger ceremony is held at the Hartford Downtown Marriott Hotel.

All nominees must be tenured PreK-12 teachers in the Hartford Public Schools system who exhibit exemplary teaching skills, show commitment to the belief that all children can learn, and are active in community and humanitarian affairs. The Teacher of the Year Awards are funded solely by sponsorships.

Last year’s winner was Victoria Shears, a Resource Teacher at SAND School, in photo below. (2021 Nominees are pictured above.)

This year’s nominees, listed in alphabetical order by their school name, are as follows:


School/Location Candidate Name
Annie Fisher STEM Magnet School Lisa Liptak
Betances Learning Lab Magnet School Angela Carcio
Betances STEM Magnet School Louis Montalbano
Breakthrough Magnet School North Ryan Sprague
Breakthrough Magnet School South Naomi Albani-Ethier
Bulkeley High School Jewel Powell
Burns Latino Studies Academy Sally Kelley
Burr School Leslie Barrett
Capital Preparatory Magnet School George Sailor
Classical Magnet School Phoebe Slocum
Dwight Bellizzi Dual Language Academy Agnes Farago
Environmental Sciences Magnet School at Mary Hooker Nicole Calca
Expeditionary Learning Academy at Moylan Renee Sherriffs
Global Communications Academy Danielle Dlubac
Great Path Academy Whitney Thurrott
Hartford Magnet Trinity College Academy Kimberly Bird
Hartford Pre-K Magnet School Krysta Chambers
Hartford Public High School Caroline Hincks
Kennelly School Shannon Harrington
Kinsella Magnet School of Performing Arts Katherine O’Grady
M.D. Fox School Mary Parks
McDonough Middle School Destiny Ayala
Milner Middle School Margaret Torres
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School Jill Simko
Naylor School Krystal Marshall-Dakers
New Visions Salwa Nethagani
Parkville Community School Kristen Wood
Pathways Academy of Technology & Design Leigh Lessard
Rawson School Margaret Hayes
Renzulli Gifted & Talented Academy Briana Bernabucci
Sanchez School Kaitlin Starr
SAND School Elizabeth Sanders
Sport & Medical Sciences Academy Erik McKay
University High School of Science & Engineering Jennifer Todisco
Weaver High School Dr. Ralph Minaya
Webster MicroSociety Magnet School Laura Thompson
West Middle School Spiridoula Sanchez
Wish Museum School Irma Torres


Congratulations to our teacher nominees!


Teacher of the Year 2021, Victoria Shears of SAND School flanked by colleagues