Hartford Public Schools Nominates 39 Candidates for 2018 Teacher of the Year Award

Hartford Public Schools Nominates 39 Candidates for 2018 Teacher of the Year Award

TOY Banquet tickets are on sale now!

The competition for Hartford’s 2018 Teacher of the Year has begun with 39 teachers nominated by their schools to participate in this year’s selection process.

Each nominee will now undergo an intensive screening and interview process conducted by a district-wide Teacher of the Year Committee made up of Hartford Public Schools curriculum directors, officials from the Hartford Federation of Teachers and previous award winners.

After its review, the committee selects three finalists. Each finalist will then be recorded on video while conducting a class in their school. They will also be asked to complete a series of written essay questions for the final evaluation.

The winner will be announced on Thursday, May 24th, at the annual Teacher of the Year Banquet to be held at the Hartford Marriott Downtown Hotel, located at 200 Columbus Blvd.

All nominees must be tenured K-12 teachers in the Hartford Public Schools system. They must exhibit exemplary teaching skills, show commitment to the belief that all children can learn and must be active in community and humanitarian affairs. Last year’s winner was Sonia Turner, a 6th Grade English Language Arts teacher at Annie Fisher STEM Magnet School.

Those wishing to purchase tickets to the 2018 Teacher of the Year banquet can do so online at: https://www.hartfordschools.org/toy2018

Here are this year’s nominees:


Asian Studies at Bellizzi School Katie Mangiafico
Batchelder School Krystal Marshall-Dakers
Betances Early Reading Lab Magnet School Staci Chenail
Breakthrough II Magnet (North) School Ryan Sprague
Breakthrough Magnet (South) School Lisa Perucki
Bulkeley High School Kaitlin Sullivan
Burns Latino Studies Academy Heather Vega
Capital Preparatory Magnet Beverly Kissane
Classical Magnet Emily Brancati
Environmental Sciences Magnet at Mary Hooker Amy Couch
Expeditionary Learning Academy at Moylan Heather Kahn
Global Communications Academy Tamara Williams
Great Path Academy at Manchester Community College Charles Buder
Hartford Magnet Trinity College Academy Anne Leonard – Blake
Hartford PreK Magnet School Krysta Chambers
High School, Inc. Lori McCants
HPHS Academy of Engineering & Green Technology Abigail Perez
HPHS Law and Government Academy Bridget Allison
HPHS Nursing Academy Philip Mitchell
Journalism & Media Academy Magnet School Tiffany Blanchette
Kennelly School Danielle Barenbaum
Kinsella Magnet School of Performing Arts Elizabeth Tuninsky
M.D. Fox School Amanda Struble
Martin L. King, Jr. School Joshua Swabby
McDonough Expeditionary Learning School Christopher Redden
Milner Elementary School Sonsheree Blair
Naylor School Joseph Fuller
Parkville Community School Celine Hines
Pathways Academy of Technology & Design Chelsea Usher
Renzulli Gifted & Talented Academy Kara Ledger
Sanchez Elementary School Keon Ruiter
SAND School Meagan D’Ascanio
Sport & Medical Sciences Academy Erik McKay
STEM Magnet School at Annie Fisher Benjamin Carlson
STEM Magnet School at Dwight (Betances) Christine Downs
University High Magnet Matthew Shea
Webster MicroSociety Magnet School Chelsie Cremona
West Middle School Aniwa Donkor
Wish Museum School Regina-Julie Albee