OUR PEOPLE: 43 School Nominees for Teacher of the Year: Teacher of the Year Banquet to be held on May 26th

OUR PEOPLE: 43 School Nominees for Teacher of the Year: Teacher of the Year Banquet to be held on May 26th

Published on Apr 21, 2016


The competition for Hartford’s 2016 Teacher of the Year award has begun with 43 teacher candidates nominated by their schools for this year’s selection process.

Each nominee will now undergo an intensive screening and interview process conducted by a district-wide Teacher of the Year committee that includes Hartford Public Schools’ curriculum directors, officials from the Hartford Federation of Teachers and previous award winners. The winner will be announced on Thursday, May 26th, at the annual Teacher of the Year Banquet to be held at the Hartford Marriott Downtown Hotel (200 Columbus Blvd).

“This is a celebration about the work of so many of our great teachers. For teachers, students and administrators, this is a key event held by Hartford Public Schools year after year,” said Superintendent Beth Schiavino-Narvaez, who will serve as the master of ceremonies at the Teacher of the Year Banquet. “We want to highlight the success stories of our teachers and recognize their amazing contributions. Hartford is lucky to be able to count on so many talented individuals that have dedicated their lives to children’s education.”

After the review, the committee will choose three finalists. Each finalist will then be recorded on video while conducting a class in their school. They will also be asked to complete a series of written essay questions for the final evaluation.

All nominees must be tenured K-12 teachers in the Hartford Public Schools system. They must exhibit exemplary teaching skills, show commitment to the belief that all children can learn and must be active in community and humanitarian affairs. Last year’s winner was Leah Tarnowicz, a Middle School English Language Arts teacher at Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. School.

Those interested in purchasing tickets to the 2015 Teacher of the Year Banquet can do so online at: http://2016hpsteacheroftheyear.eventbrite.com.

Here are this year’s nominees in alphabetical order:

Diana Ayrula – Teacher Prep & Humanities at Bulkeley Lower School
Joe Battaglia – Law and Government Academy at HPHS
Lisa Berke – Noah Webster MicroSociety Magnet School
Jessica Cieri – Hartford PreK Magnet School
Jodi Clavette – Environmental Sciences Magnet School at Mary Hooker
Lauren Davern – Capital Preparatory Magnet
Freddie DeJesus – Renzulli Gifted & Talented Academy 
Nick DeLuca – Journalism & Media Academy Magnet School
Andrew Eaton – Capital Community Magnet School
Theresa Ekstrom – McDonough Expeditionary Learning School
Orlene Haye – Rawson School
Sharon Horan – Naylor/CCSU Leadership Academy
Katherine Johnston – Great Path Academy Middle College High School at Manchester Community College  
Tim Ketterer – Teacher Prep & Humanities at Bulkeley Higher School
Lewis Kuested – Museum Academy at Wish
Ronald Leyhow – Kennelly School
Gary Lotreck – Classical Magnet
Jennifer Mancone – Hartford Magnet Trinity College Academy
Richard Mchugh – Maria Sanchez School
Carmelina Miceli – Global Communications Academy (IB)
Gregory Miska – Culinary Arts Academy at Weaver High School
Beverly Moquin – Pathways Academy of Technology & Design
Linh Nguyen – SAND School
Kelly Peterson – Clark School
Windy Thompson-Petersen – Breakthrough Magnet School
Louise Pulyado – STEM Magnet School at Annie Fisher School
Guy Richters – University High School of Science & Engineering
Wendy Rivera – Latino Studies Academy at Burns School
Colleen Signori – Parkville Community
Jacqueline Springer – Martin L. King Jr. School
Joanne Stergos – West Middle
Alison Stroili – Academy of Nursing & Health Sciences at HPHS
Joshua Svoboda – Sport & Medical Sciences Academy
Jennifer Tate – High School, Inc.
Lori Thompson – M.D. Fox School
Christine Tocionis – R.J. Kinsella Magnet School of Performing Arts
Ayanna Vinson-Dobson – Asian Studies Academy
LaShawn Walwyn – Betances STEM
Jesse Wanzer – Expeditionary Learning Academy at Moylan
Teresa Webber – Breakthrough II Magnet School
Jessie Wills – Batchelder School
Barbara Wolejko – Early Reading Lab at Betances School
Jessica Zanghi – Burr School

Leave a Reply