HPS Selects 3 Finalists for 2020 Teacher of the Year

HPS Selects 3 Finalists for 2020 Teacher of the Year

After an intensive screening and interview process, Hartford Public School’s 2020 Teacher of the Year choice is down to three District Teacher of the Year Finalists.

A special districtwide committee selected Shakira Perez, an 8th and 12th Grade English teacher at Classical Magnet School; John Tusch, an English and Computer Science teacher at Global Communications Academy; and Benjamin McLane, a 5th Grade teacher at Wish Museum School.  The finalists are asked to complete a series of written essay questions as part of their final evaluation.

Shakira Perez
Classical Magnet School
John Tusch
Global Communications Academy
Benjamin McLane
Wish Museum School
 Read more about this English teacher, here.  Read more about this English and Computer Science teacher here.  Read more about this 5th grade teacher here.

The selection committee is made up of Hartford Public Schools academic professionals, officials from the Hartford Federation of Teachers, and former winners of the event. Thirty-seven schools, each submitting one nominee, are participating in the competition. The winner will be announced on Thursday, May 21, 2020.

All nominees must be tenured PreK-12 teachers in the Hartford Public Schools system. They must exhibit exemplary teaching skills, show commitment to the belief that all children can learn and must be active in community and humanitarian efforts. Last year’s winner was Narciso Moquete, a 4th Grade teacher at SAND School.

Here are this year’s nominees:

School/Location Candidate name
Annie Fisher STEM Magnet School Alicia McKernan
Betances Learning Lab Magnet School Erica Ellison
Betances STEM Magnet School Suela Bruko
Breakthrough Magnet School North Valerie Michaels
Breakthrough Magnet School South Patrick Habersang
Bulkeley High School Belinda Perez
Burns Latino Studies Academy Teresita Hernandez
Burr School Erin Tingley
Capital Preparatory Magnet Brittany Halleck
Classical Magnet Shakira Perez
Dwight Bellizzi School Courtney Proto
Environmental Sciences Magnet at Mary Hooker Elisa Berggren
Expeditionary Learning Academy at Moylan Joseph Parker
Global Communications Academy John Tusch
Great Path Academy at Manchester Community College Steven Wolf
Hartford Magnet Trinity College Academy Angela Kumm
Hartford Pre-K Magnet School Jessica Costa
Hartford Public High School Frank Giannini
Kennelly School Jason Kahn
Kinsella Magnet School of Performing Arts Renata Tavares
MD Fox School Rose Alvarado
McDonough Middle School Joshua Hinrichs
Milner Middle School Tynisha Tyson
MLK Middle School Julie Medina
Naylor School Barrett Marlan
Parkville Community School Colleen Signori
Pathways Academy of Technology & Design Matthew Stroop
Rawson School Amber Riley-Wilson
Renzulli Gifted & Talented Academy Adrienn Olmstead
Sanchez Elementary School Timothy Bojanowski
SAND School Lindsay Tinker
Sport & Medical Sciences Academy Cynthia Petrillo
University High Magnet Nicole Silenok
Weaver High School Cecilia Chang
Webster MicroSociety Magnet School Abigail Sutcliffe
West Middle School Toni Johnson
Wish Museum School Benjamin McLane

Congratulations to all of our amazing nominees.

Hartford Public Schools is grateful to its invaluable event sponsors:

Lead sponsors VOYA Financial Advisors, Inc., Co-lead sponsor Sonitrol New England, Pullman & Comley, the Hartford Federation of Teachers, Autumn Transportation, Downes Construction Company, Newfield Construction, Ricoh, Inc., Bears Restaurant Group, the Church & Main Deli, City Steam Brewery Café.

Leave a Reply