Learning happens every day. Attendance matters, every day and for each student.

Attend Today. Achieve Tomorrow.

Student Enrollment

Become a member of the Hartford Public Schools community. Find out how to enroll your student for school today! Contact us at 860-695-8876 or visit our Office of Enrollment and School Choice.

previous arrow
next arrow

Superintendent Weekly Update – June 11, 2021

Student Access & Equity During COVID-19: 2020-2021 Infographic

HPS Spring 2021: Culture, Climate, and Equity Survey

Student Meal Distributions Update

Celebrating our Graduates – 2021

48th Annual Youth Art Renaissance Showcases our Students’ Talents

REGISTRATION DEADLINE Friday, 6/11/21! Charter Oak Cultural Center Free Summer Camps

Camp Courant Free Summer Camp for Boys & Girls Ages 5 – 12

Hartford Public Schools At-A-Glance*

* as of October 2020

About Us

Hartford Public Schools serves more than 17,500 PreK-12 students from Hartford and nearly 70 surrounding towns. We are one of the largest public school districts in Connecticut, with 39 schools, including 18 magnet schools.

We believe in our beautiful and capable students, high expectations, inclusiveness, collaboration, continuous improvement, and systemic accountability.

Click here to learn more about our District Model for Excellence, or click here to learn about our student enrollment process.

Quick Links

Food & Nutrition


Health Services

Welcome Center

Student Safety

DCF Careline


District Schools

Parents should note that choosing an out-of-zone school may affect availability of school transportation. This program is administered by Hartford Public Schools.

Magnet Schools

There are magnet schools in each school zone. While the majority of students are from Hartford, this program is open to students from the Greater Hartford region.

School Choice Process

The most important thing to understand about school choice in Hartford is that all the participating schools are tuition free public schools with open enrollment.